Monday, 24 June, 2024 - 16:00
Klarisky Concert Hall

Due to great interest, we are moving the concert from the chamber hall of the Albrecht House to the Klarisky Concert Hall.



Jan ČONKA - Czechia
Jan MARKOWSKI - Poland
Joseph Kaspar MERTZ (1806 – 1856): 
Ungarische Vaterlands – Blüthen, Op. 1.
Rigoletto (Musik von G. Verdi), op. 63
Opern revue op. 8 / No.2 – Donizetti: Lucia di Lamermoor
Souvenir de Choulhoff - Concert Mazurka
2 Polonaises favorites de Oginski, no. 1 and 5, z Bardenklänge, op. 13 
Fantasie Originale, op.65, No.2
Opern-revue op. 8 / No.14 – Verdi: Ernani


The work of Joseph Kaspar MERTZ, a native of Pressburg (now Bratislava), is one of the gems of early romantic guitar music. The virtuoso and composer became famous in the first half of the 19th century not only for his outstanding guitar playing, but also as a composer whose works were published by publishing houses in Vienna, Prague and Munich. Mertz's concert successes began on his first European tour during years 1841 - 1842 , which included performings in Pressburg, Pest, Olomouc, Dresden, and Krakow, among other cities. His oeuvre encompasses diverse genres, and in addition to his own original works, he has left numerous adaptations and transcriptions of music with a pan-European, as well as worldwide, territorial scope.
In creating the dramaturgy of these concerts, the universality of Mertz's legacy seemed to emerge naturally. It finds its source in the uniqueness of the music of the Central European area, which is characterised by the diversity of the many nations that coexist within it. The programme offers a varied palette of guitar music by the composer from Pressburg, who, in addition to his own original music, reflects the music of Czech, Polish and Hungarian composers. 


Basic admission: 8 € / 5 € students (ISIC), teachers (ITIC), seniors over 65 / 1 € disabled and children up to 12 year (max. 2 children accompanied by 1 adult)
Tickets will be available for purchase 1 hour before the concert at the venue.

Change of programme and performers reserved!


Klarisky Concert Hall


The project is co-financed by the Governments of Czechia, Hungary, Poland and Slovakia through Visegrad Grants from International Visegrad Fund. The mission of the fund is to advance ideas for sustainable regional cooperation in Central Europe.

International partners of the event are Society for Chamber Music at the Moravian Philharmonic Olomouc (Czech Republic), Olomouc Research Library (Czech Republic), Municipal Centre of Culture Tychy (Poland), The Karol Szymanowsky Academy of Music in Katowice (Poland), Via musica ad beatum z.s. (Czech Republic) and Bartók Béla Secondary School of Music Budapest (Hungary).


Other concerts of the project:

June 3, 2024, 7 pm, Red Church, OLOMOUC (Czech Republic)

June 4, 2024, 7 pm, Bolesław Szabelski Aula, The Karol Szymanowski Academy of Music, KATOWICE (Poland)

June 22, 2024, 6 pm, Ferencsik Hall, Bartók Béla Secondary School of Music, BUDAPEST  (Hungary)